Jon Alegria will join the USApple trustees.

Jon Alegria will join the USApple trustees.

The Washington Apple Commission has nominated board member Jon Alegria, vice president and director of operations for CPC International Apple Company in Tieton, to succeed George Allan on the U.S. Apple Association’s board of trustees.

The commission also nominated John Wyss for a second three-year term as a USApple trustee. Wyss is government affairs director with Gebbers Farms in Brewster. Other Washington representatives on the U.S. Apple board are Frank Davis, John Graden, Mike Wade, Tom Stokes, Bob Price, Suzanne Wolter, and Dale Foreman, who will retire next year.

At their meeting on July 19, Apple Commission board members also appointed George Allan to the Northwest Horticultural Council Trustees to succeed Brian Alegria, and reappointed Richard Thomason and Mark Zirkle for two-year terms.

Mike Robinson was appointed to take Scott Pryse’s place on the Hort Council’s Science Advisory Committee, and Ron Britt and Keith Larson were reappointed for two-year terms.

The board appointed Mark Zirkle, Tom Riggan, David Smetlzer, and Steve Smith to represent the Apple Commission on the Northwest Fruit Exporters’ Apple Commodity Committee for one-year terms.

Jim Doornink and Harold Schell were reappointed to the Washington Tree Fruit Research Commission board. Doornink has served on the Tree Fruit Research Commission since 1985 and Schell since 2009.