Michelle Moyer, Washington State University professor and viticulture extension specialist, has been confirmed as the president of the American Society for Enology and Viticulture for 2023–24, according to a news release. Moyer succeeds R. Keith Striegler of E. & J. Gallo Winery.

Michelle Moyer, Washington State University
Michelle Moyer

“My career in supporting the grape and wine industries through extension and research has been wonderful, and I’m grateful for this fantastic opportunity to continue this service by working with the ASEV board as president, to further our mission,” Moyer said. 

Moyer has served as an ASEV board member since 2018 and also serves as president of the newly created ASEV Foundation. 

Moyer earned her doctorate in plant pathology at Cornell University and received her bachelor’s degree in genetics and plant pathology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She has worked at WSU since 2011 and joined its department of viticulture and enology in January. She received WSU’s College of Agricultural, Human and Natural Resource Sciences 2023 Faculty Excellence in Extension Award, the 2022 ASEV Best Viticulture Paper and the ASEV Extension Distinction awards in 2020.

The ASEV board of directors for 2023–24 also includes: Anita Oberholster of University of California, Davis, vice president; James Osborne of Oregon State University, second vice president; Torey Arvik of Jackson Family Wines and SonomaCeuticals/Whole Vine Products, secretary-treasurer; Markus Keller of WSU, science editor; James Harbertson of WSU, technical program director; and directors Karen Block of UC Davis; Federico Casassa of California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo; Leticia Chacón-Rodríguez of UC Davis; Hope Goldie of Darioush Khaledi; Anna Katharine Mansfield of Cornell AgriTech and Yun Zhang of Ste. Michelle Wine Estates. 

For more information about ASEV, visit: asev.org.

—by Jonelle Mejica