Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page

Each year, Good Fruit Grower magazine presents its prestigious Good Fruit Grower of the Year Award to an inspiring and innovative fruit grower, orchard family, or orchard manager in North America.

Recipients are recognized for being good employers and good stewards of their resources and for their focus on growing quality fruit. They also have contributed to the success of the tree fruit industry as a whole.

Following are winners of the award since it began:

1997 Bruce Allen, Yakima, Washington1997 Bruce Allen, Yakima, Washington 1998 Fleming Family, Orondo and Quincy, Washington1998 Fleming Family, Orondo/Quincy, Washington
1999 Peters Family, Yakima, Washington1999 Peters Family, Yakima, Washington 2000 Dave and George Allan, Yakima, Washington2000 Dave and George Allan, Yakima, Washington
 2001 Gip Redman, Wapato, Washington2001 Gip Redman, Wapato, Washington

2002 Tom Mathison, Wenatchee, Washington

2002 Tom Mathison, Wenatchee, Washington

2003 Bailey Family, The Dalles, Oregon

2003 Bailey Family, The Dalles, Oregon

2004 Warren Morgan, Quincy, Washington

2004 Warren Morgan, Quincy, Washington


2005 Denny Hayden, Pasco, Washington


2006 Norm Gutzwiler, Wenatchee, Washington


2007 Mike and Laura Mrachek, Malaga, Washington

january-2009-cover-web2008 Ralph Broetje, Prescott, Washington


2009 Jim and Rena Doornink, Wapato, Washington


2010 John Carter, The Dalles, Oregon


2011 John, David, Ted, and Mark Rice, Gardners, Pennsylvania


2012 Scott Smith, Tonasket, Washington

Click to enlarge photo

2013 Jeff Colombini, Lodi, California.

GrowerGOYCover2014-3002014 Craig and Mike O’Brien, Prosser, Washington.
GrowerGOYCover2014-3002015 Brenton Roy, Prosser, Washington. GrowerGOYCover20162016 Bill and Mark Zirkle, Selah, Washington.
Mike Omeg2017 Mike Omeg, The Dalles, Oregon. GrowerGOYCover20162018 The Plath Family, Yakima, Washington.