Wine grape growers and producers who are interested in joining the Washington Wine Commission board are asked to apply before March 20, 2015. Five, 3-year commission positions are either vacant or are expiring this year. The Washington State Director of Agriculture will appoint the positions between May and July 1.

Interested persons can learn more about candidate qualifications at Growers who meet these qualifications should apply to the Washington Association of Wine Grape Growers office by March 20. The WAWGG board will then interview candidates during the April 2 board meeting.

Wine producers are asked to contact Josh McDonald, executive director of the Washington Wine Institute at

Read more from the release:


Open Positions on the Wine Commission


On June 30 the terms of four board members will expire plus, there is one existing vacancy.

Position #1 – Producer-Currently vacant: Martin Johnson was transferred

Position #3 – Producer-Dan Wampfler: Dan intends to seek another term

Position #5 – Producer-Jim Van Loben Sels: Jim does not intend to seek another term

Position #6 – Grower-Currently vacant

Position #8 – Grower-Butch Milbrandt: Butch does not intend to seek another term

Position #10 – Grower-Brenton Roy: Brenton intends to seek another term


Current Board of Commissioners includes:

Chris Sparkman, Sparkman Cellars (winery) – Chairman

Martin Johnson, Ste. Michelle Wine Estates (winery) – Marketing Committee Chairman

Butch Milbrandt, Milbrandt Vineyards (grower) – Marketing Committee

Dick Boushey, Boushey Vineyards (grower) – Research Committee Chairman

Rob Mercer, Mercer Wine Estates (grower) – Finance Committee

John Sportelli, Columbia (winery) – Marketing Committee

Dan Ewer, Young’s Columbia Wine Country (wine distributor) – Marketing Committee

Crystie Kisler, Finnriver Cidery (non-vinifera producer) – Finance Committee

Brenton Roy, Oasis Farms (grower) – Vice Chairman and Finance Committee Chairman

Jim van Loben Sels, Arbor Crest Wine Cellars (winery) – Marketing Committee

Daniel Wampfler, Dunham Cellars (winery) – Research Committee

Rianne Perry, Washington State Department of Ag (Director’s rep.) – Research Committee