Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page
Chris Schlect

Chris Schlect

Chris Schlect, president of the Northwest Horticultural Council, has been reappointed to the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Agricultural Policy Advisory Committee. He is the sole person on the 34-member committee specifically representing the tree fruit industry. Other appointees include Laura Batcha of the Organic Trade Association and Tom Stenzel of the United Fresh Produce Association.

Two tree fruit representatives have been appointed to the USDA’s Agricultural Technical Advisory Committee for Trade in Fruits and Vegetables: Richard Hudgins of the California Canning Peach Association and Marcy Martin of the California Fresh Fruit Association. The other 13 members include Robert Guenther of United Fresh.

Committee members will serve for four years.

The U.S. Congress established the Agricultural Policy Advisory Committee and six Agricultural Technical Advisory Committees in 1974 to allow private-sector input in establishing U.S. agricultural trade policy objectives.